banner-archive

Revolution vs Counter-Revolution

My Association with Frontier

Anirban Biswas

I first heard the name of Frontier from a senior cousin of mine, probably in July 1968. Then, when I was a first year student I began to read Frontier with a fair degree of regularity. When we were schoolboys, we were familiar with the name of Samar Sen the poet, but not with the name of Samar Sen the editor. I was a mofussil boy who had come to Kolkata for higher studies. My hostel being located in the College Street area, it was not difficult to procure the journal from the newspaper stalls at the junction of the College Street and the Mahatma Gandhi Road. It was a period of turbulence and hence our frame of mind gradually became agitative about the existing order of things. As I went on reading Frontier without, however, understanding much of the contents, I came to develop a fascination for the paper. It might be that the sharp language and brilliant style of the editorial pieces offered an additional attraction.